Back to all articles

Fours Head: Boat Race Crews take to The Tideway

Fours Head: Boat Race Crews take to The Tideway
11th Nov 2016

The annual Fuller’s Head of the River Fours will take place this weekend across the same 4 ¼ mile stretch of water as The Cancer Research UK Boat Races, the Championship Course on the Tideway in London. 

Raced from Mortlake to Putney, the crews compete in the opposite direction to The Boat Races, in four-person boats, against the clock. The time trial format means that the Fours Head is the only event in the calendar where all four squads can be compared directly giving the coaches an opportunity to assess their athlete’s abilities which can help to indicate future squad selection.          

Cambridge University Boat Club has entered five crews in the Elite categories (four coxed fours and one coxless) which will race against clubs and universities from across the country. Returning from the winning 2016 Blue Boat, President Lance Tredell will race in CUBC’s top boat (Cambridge Univ I) and will be joined by fellow returners, Ben Ruble and cox Ian Middleton.

Meanwhile Cambridge University Women’s Boat Club will field seven crews (four coxed and three coxless) with the coxed crews including several returners from the 2015 & 2016 Blue Boats and the victorious 2016 reserve boat, Blondie. Making her debut for Cambridge will also be Claire Lambe, racing in ‘CUW V’ after representing Ireland at the Rio Olympic Games earlier this year.


On the Oxford side, OUBC will see a total of five crews compete on The Tideway (three coxed and two coxless) with several previous Blue Boat rowers including President, Mike DiSanto who returns to the club after a year away rowing with Team USA. Bolstering the Dark Blue side this year for the first time will also be Olivier Siegelaar, who scooped up a bronze medal for The Netherlands in the M8+ at this summer’s Rio Olympics.


Oxford University’s Women’s Boat Club has fielded five crews (all coxed) which includes several rowers from this year’s Boat Races reserve crew Osiris in addition to a variety of new international rowers to the squad.


The HOR4s race will take place on Saturday 12th November 2016 at 13:15.




Coxed Fours

1 Ben Ruble
2 Patrick Eble
3 Lance Tredell
4 Henry Meek
c Ian Middleton

1 Felix Newman
2 Timothy Tracey
3 Robin Ponte
4 Aleks Malowany
c Hugo Ramambason

1 Piers Kasas
2 James Letten
3 Peter Rees
4 Simon Buchele
c Pranay Bose

1 Ben Langslow
2 Tom Strudwick
3 Sam Ringer
4 Joe Carroll
c Akil Hashmi

Coxless Fours

1 Sam Wilson
2 Louis Margot
3 Charlie Fisher
4 Freddie Davidson




Coxed Fours


1 Lucy Pike

2 Kirsten van Fossen

3 Thea Zabell

4 Emma Andrews

c Matthew Holland


1 Claire Lambe

2 Rachel Elwood

3 Ashton Brown

4 Fanny Belais

c Evie Lindsay


1 Sally O'Brien

2 Paula Wulff

3 Anna Faulkner

4 Claire Nichols  

c Gemma Schofield


1 Fenella McLuskie

2 Ellie Hopgood     

3 Rebecca Abbott,

4 Ellie Thompson

c Katie Klavenes



Coxless Fours


1 Myriam Goudet

2 Alice White

3 Holly Hill

4 Melissa Wilson


1 Imogen Grant

2 Tricia Smith

3 Oonagh Coussins

4 Karolina Farr


1 Olivia Jamrog

2 Iona Casley

3 Dorottya Nagy

4 Izzy Edwards





Coxed Fours


1 Jorgen Tveit

2 Olivier Siegelaar

3 Michael DiSanto

4 Achim Harzheim

c Sam Collier


1 James White

2 Oliver Cook

3 Joshua Bugasjki

4 William Warr

c Anna Carbery


1 William Cahill

2 Tom Foster

3 Vassilis Ragoussis

4 George McKirdy

c Victoria Warner


Coxless Fours


1 Matthew O’Leary

2 Jacob Cushnie

3 Dusan Milovanovic

4 James Cook


1 William Ripley

2 Benedict Aldous

3 Claas Mertens

4 Matthias Mergenthaler




Coxed Fours


1 Chloe Laverack

2 Lauren Kedar

3 Emily Cameron

4 Harriet Austin

c Eleanor Shearer


1 Jessica Glennie

2 Abigail Killen

3 Jenna Hebert

4 Flo Pickles

c Jessica Buck


1 Annie Taylor

2 Lise du Buisson

3 Rebecca te Water Naude

4 Elettra Ardissino

c Antonia Stutter


1 Kelly Hazejager

2 Alice Manly

3 Imogen Cowley

4 Beth Bridgman

c Clarissa Coveney


1 Alice Roberts

2 Isobel Dodds

3 Jenny Tran

4 Grace Clough

c Sowon Lee 

The Boat Races: The Basics

The Boat Races: The Basics
An introduction to The Boat Races Read more

Previous Results

Previous Results
All the results of the previous Boat Races. Read more